How to Stop Instagram From Saving Posts to Camera Roll [Quick Fix]

Turn off automatic saving and save space on your phone.

How to Stop Instagram From Saving Posts to Camera Roll in Phone

Share your love:

There’s no doubt that we all enjoy posting pictures and videos on Instagram. It has now become one of the most used social media platform all over the world. However, every time we post there is small problem we all come across.

When your post is uploaded, Instagram saves a copy of it to your camera roll. Even worse when you post many pictures and it gets annoying to see all those come up in your gallery especially if your phone is running out of storage space. 

It can be annoying having to manually delete or remove these posts from your gallery every now and then. But why do that when you can solve the problem in just a few easy steps?

In this tutorial, we’ll show you how you can stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll by just making some changes in settings.

How to Stop Instagram from Saving Posts to Camera Roll

There are different ways you can stop Instagram from saving posts to the camera roll, but the primary one is by disabling autosaving in the app’s settings.

Let’s look at that first.

1. Disabling Autosaving on Android

Open the Instagram app on your android phone and go to the Profile section by tapping on the icon on the bottom right corner of your screen. 

On the profile page, you’ll see three horizontal lines on the top right corner. Click on that to open the settings panel.

open Instagram and go to the profile section

In the popup, you will see Settings as the first option. Tap on that to open the general settings of your app. 

After that, tap on the Account option to open the settings related to your account. Scroll down to find Original Post and tap on that to open it.

Instagram turn of original post saving to gallery

On the new page, you’ll see three different options. Turn off the toggle for Save original posts and it’ll change the color from Blue to Grey. By doing this, you will stop Instagram from saving any posts (photos and videos) that you upload on your Instagram.

You also get two additional settings that allow you to control settings for individual options, such as photos and videos. You can change the settings by turning on or off the Save posted photos and Save posted videos toggles, as shown in the screenshot.

That’s it for the Android, let’s now look at how to stop Instagram from saving posts to camera roll on an iOS device.

2. Disabling autosaving on iOS

Same as Android, open the Instagram app on your iOS device and follow the below steps.

Tap on the Profile icon on the bottom right of the Instagram app to go to your profile page. 

After opening your Profile page, tap on the three horizontal lines (hamburger menu) on the top right of your screen. 

A fly-out menu will open where you can tap on the Settings option at the bottom.

After you go to the Settings, tap on Account to open settings related to your account.

open the settings page of the Instagram app on iOS device

Scroll down and tap on Original Photos

There, you can turn off the toggle for Save Original Photos. The toggle should change color from green to grey. By doing this you will stop Instagram from saving any posts to your camera roll. 

stop instagram from saving posts to camera roll on iOS device

That’s it! Now you know how to stop Instagram from saving posts to camera roll on both Android and iOS.

Why does Instagram Save Posts to Camera Roll?

Instagram is a photo sharing app that allows users to share their photos with friends and family. One of the features of Instagram is that it automatically saves the photos you’ve uploaded to your camera roll.

It does this so that you can view them later when there’s no internet connection or if you want to share the edited photo on some other social media apps like Facebook and Twitter.

Conclusion

Every image you post on Instagram will be stored in your phone’s camera roll if you’ve got the Save Original Images or Save Original Posts options switched on in your Instagram settings.

You can simply turn this off to save space on your device and to disable repeated photos in the gallery.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Leave the first comment