Do you want to know how to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat?
Snapchat is a social media platform where users can message one another and share video snippets. If anyone on Snapchat is no longer answering your Snaps or personal messages, the individual may have blocked you.
This guide will help you confirm if you believe someone blocked you, but it will require some detective work on your end after reading the steps below.
How Can You Tell if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat?
In the below section, we’ll share the step-by-step process of how to figure out if a person has blocked you on Snapchat.
1. Go Back To Chat History
The chat history is the initial place to find out if another person blocked you (Go ahead and skip this step if you have never spoken with the user or you know you don’t have the chat saved). Their username should still show up with a green light if they are active.
Remember this step can only be helpful to you if you and the user had conversations in the past. If you don’t see the conversation in this area, you may have been blocked, and the user deleted the chat before doing it.
Start by pressing with one finger on the Snapchat app on your phone, and make your way to the conversations tab by pressing the speech bubble icon on the lower left-hand side of the page. You will know you’re in the right place when you see the camera snap button.
It’s almost certain that if you can’t see your recent conversations with this person and can’t find them on your friend’s list, the culprit has blocked you on Snapchat.
If you still want to be certain and try other tests, the following steps will help.
2. Conduct A Search Using Username or Legal Name
Users won’t appear in your search box if they have blocked you on Snapchat already, and you won’t see them on your friend list. However, if they deleted you but didn’t block you, their account should pop up when you search for them.
Remember that there is a stark contrast between when your Snapchat account is blocked and when a user removes you from their friends’ list. When you are blocked, you can’t find any information about their account, and unless you log in from a different account, you can’t make contact.
Once your Snapchat account is deleted from a user’s friend list, they will still be on your personal list, and you’ll be able to contact them even though we wouldn’t recommend it.
Most times, they will not be able to see your message anyway if they customize their Snapchat privacy settings to allow only messages from friends to reach their inbox.
To try and search for a user, find the magnifying glass icon and tap it, so you get access to the search box. Next, type in the username of the person you want to search for to see what appears.
On the results page, friends will show up below the My Friends section, and people who are not your friends show up below the Add Friends section. The latter will be the area the person you search will be under if they deleted you.
If no results appear when you type in the exact username, they either blocked you or set up a second account, so the deleted account is no longer active.
3. Try Searching Their Username or Full Name Using a Different Snapchat Account
Instead of using your blocked account, try a second Snapchat account to see if their account is still active. Below are a few options about how you can go about using different accounts:
- Talk with a friend or a family member so they can use the search icon to find the person you are looking for with the Snapchat app on their phone. It’s even better if this person is a mutual friend of the person you want to find.
- Log off your main account and create a new one to try the search results with a fresh account. The search box is always in the top left corner with a gray icon.
If you pick the first choice, you don’t need to use your valuable time making a new account to tell if someone blocked you on the Snapchat app.
Start by asking a close acquaintance, a family member, someone you work with, or anyone else you can trust. The instructions you give should be to tap the search symbol and type in either the person’s legal name or username.
If the first option is inconvenient, you can set up a new account but sign out of the old one before you open Snapchat again. On the home page, tap the Sign-Up button to start. Next, fill in all the personal information you need for the new account, including your first and last name, password, and mobile number.
If, after testing both options above, you find the person’s account after searching for them, you will know your friend blocked you.
Read Also: How To Hide Snapchat Score From Your Friends
Wrapping Up: How Can You Tell If Someone Has Blocked You On Snapchat
The three tips we shared above should help you find out if someone has blocked you on Snapchat.
Our advice is to stop messaging them and find a new friend because if someone blocks you without saying why, they are not worth it. Snapchat is all about making friends and getting to know new people.
It all comes down to getting to know people on a daily basis. But, like other social networks, it’s not something to get upset about.