How to permanently delete Telegram account
Telegram is one the fastest growing messaging apps with 600,000 users joining daily. Telegram is different from all other messaging apps. It is updated with new features from time to time. Telegram was created by the brothers Nikolai and Pavel Durov, the founders of Russian VK, Russia’s largest social network. It is always in news from time to time after reports of ISIS groups using it for carrying out their activities. Also, it is popular in countries where people fear of their government spying on them. Many journalists and whistle-blowers use it because of the security and the speed it provides. It has a feature called secret chat in which messages get deleted automatically at a set time from both devices. Along with secret chat, it has other countless features that makes it the most feature rich messaging app.
In spite of all the awesome features it offers, there can be many reasons why one might want to permanently delete Telegram account. In this article, I will guide you step by step on how to permanently delete Telegram account.
Note: If you have changed your number and want to use Telegram on your new number, there is a option in Telegram Settings which will let you change number of your Telegram account without having to delete Telegram account.
Also Read: 27 Reasons Why You Should Switch To Telegram
Before proceeding to the guide on how to delete telegram account, I want to tell you about a feature in Telegram that might change your decision about permanently deleting your account. If you go to the Settings > Privacy and Security, you will see an option named “Account self-destruct”. What this option does is that if you don’t log in to your Telegram account for the specific time, your account will automatically get deleted. This option can be useful if you are not too sure if you want to delete Telegram account and might change your decision in future. Deleting Telegram account permanently will erase all your data including images, files from the Telegram clouds.
If you still want to delete your telegram account then follow the steps given below:
- Open a browser and go to the deactivation page.
- Log in to your account by entering the mobile number of the account that you want to delete. (Enter the mobile number in international format)
- You will receive a confirmation code on your Telegram app that you need to enter on the website.
- Click on Sign In.
- A new page will open where you can enter the reason you are deleting your Telegram account.
- Click on Done and your account will be deleted forever.
Also Read: How To Get Unlimited Cloud Storage For Free
After deleting your account, all messages, media and contacts gets deleted from Telegram servers. This is a one way process and you won’t be able to recover your account ever after. Before deleting make sure if you really want to delete your telegram account.
I hope you liked the article. Feel free to share it on social media to help others having similar query i.e “How to permanently delete Telegram Account”. If you get any problem following the steps, do let us know in the comment section below. Also, Subscribe to our Newsletter to receive notification of new posts directly to your inbox.